Komorebi - CD

In stock
Product Details

NEW ALBUM – Featuring Special Guests: Tony Levin, Davide Rossi, Petra Haden, and Nora Germain!

Our first album – Yamanashi Blues – was recorded in 1991 in Bert Lams’ living room in Hollywood using 3 Ovation guitars.

NOW, 25 years and 14 albums later, we have recorded our newest release – KOMOREBI – in a way that is different from any project we’ve done before! For this recording, we focused on capturing the most natural sound possible from our acoustic guitars. Our studio engineer, Tom Griesgraber, did a lot of research and experimentation with different Neumann microphone configurations. We finally found 3 different set ups that helped us achieve our aim – TO SOUND AS THOUGH THE LISTENER IS SITTING IN THE MIDDLE OF US WHILE WE PLAY!

The Result: Our new album – KOMOREBI (kO-mO-‘re-bE), which, in Japanese, roughly translates to “Sunlight shining through the leaves of trees.” We feel this album literally captures the essence of the word Komorebi – making the SOUND shine through the ’leaves’ of our three guitars! We hope you will agree!

Bert Lams - Guitar (Modified Dreadnaught by Raymond Kraut)

Paul Richards - Guitar (Modified Dreadnaught by Ervin Somogyi)

Hideyo Moriya - Guitar (CM Custom by Breedlove Guitars)

Recorded June 27-30, 2016 at ThosSounds Studio, Encinitas, California

Recorded and Mixed by Tom Griesgraber

Mastered by Brian Lucey at Magic Garden Studio, Atwater Village, California

Produced by California Guitar Trio, Tom Griesgraber and Brian Lucey

Additional recording by Diego Lopez at Veneto West, Santa Monica, California

CD artwork by Gary Bandfield Tourbuslive.com

Promotion by Jill Bandfield Tourbuslive.com

Cover photography by Howard-Snyder.com

All originals published by Pepa Paldo Music BMI, Copyright 2016

Special Guests: Tony Levin - NS Upright Bass, Chapman Stick (2,10,11); Davide Rossi - Violin (7); Petra Haden -Vocals (10,11); Nora Germain - Violin (10); Tom Griesgraber - Theremin (4).

1) Komorebi - 2:38 - Hideyo Moriya

2) Cherry Trees - 4:04 - Paul Richards

3) Buckaroo -1:58 - Buck Owens, Bob Morris

4) Good Vibrations - 3:48 - Brian Wilson (arr. B Lams)

5) Blue Rondo - 6:03 - Dave Brubeck (arr. B Lams)

6) Wonderful Land -2:10 - Jerry Lordan

7) Claymont Waltz - 3:30 - Bert Lams

8) Glass Tango - 3:38 - Bert Lams, Paul Richards

9) Dig a Pony - 3:11- Lennon, McCartney

10) Euphoria - 2:50 - Paul Richards

11) Spiritual - 5:01 - Josh Haden (arr. P Richards)

Save this product for later